Motorbike Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

2006 Gold Wing

 
 
anonymous
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-22-2010, 06:30 PM
Skeptical as I may be, anyone interested in a Gold Wing,
might check out:
http://dallas.craigslist.org/dal/mcy/1737436891.html

There's probably a "catch" somewhere. But, stranger things
have happened.

My only association with this posting is strictly from an obs-
ervation/notification perspective. I know nothing else, literally.


Thanks.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
louie
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-23-2010, 12:32 AM

"anonymous" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:df236108-3162-4761-b5b8-(E-Mail Removed)...
> Skeptical as I may be, anyone interested in a Gold Wing,
> might check out:
> http://dallas.craigslist.org/dal/mcy/1737436891.html
>
> There's probably a "catch" somewhere. But, stranger things
> have happened.
>
> My only association with this posting is strictly from an obs-
> ervation/notification perspective. I know nothing else, literally.
>
>
> Thanks.


Link sez the posting has been flagged and removed.

Here is another '06, was it this one by chance?
http://dallas.craigslist.org/dal/mcy/1749094865.html

...louie


 
Reply With Quote
 
anonymous
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-25-2010, 06:55 AM
On May 22, 6:59*pm, Pender <whatisthefreque...@kenneth.net> wrote:
> anonymous wrote:
> > Skeptical as I may be, anyone interested in a Gold Wing,
> > might check out:
> >http://dallas.craigslist.org/dal/mcy/1737436891.html

>
> > There's probably a "catch" somewhere. But, stranger things
> > have happened.

>
> > My only association with this posting is strictly from an obs-
> > ervation/notification perspective. I know nothing else, literally.

>
> > Thanks.

>
> took it down. Musta been good.




Yeah, CL took it down. But then it reappeared. Only to be taken down
once again.

Basically, it was a 2006 Gold Wing, 14,??? miles, for $2.8K. I know,
this has got to be a scam. But, I wanted to follow it just to see
where
it would lead.

I communicated back and forth with the lister many times, but it soon
became clear that the hoops and snafus were just too burdensome.

The "pitch" would change each time I'd ask for a new procedure to act-
ually see/inspect the bike. Shortly, it actually became pretty funny
how
I was being led down the path that was to conclude with me sending a
non-traceable money order to some unknown destination.

Since the whole thing seemed to center around an Ebay purchase, I had
asked for the Ebay identification information. My further instructions
sim-
ply said that I'll just charge the purchase on my CC using an Ebay
account.

That was where communications have apparently stopped. Perhaps they
will resume after designing a counter to my last request. Don't know.

Interestingly, I cound this narrative of similar tactics on the web
http://www.goldwingfacts.com/forums/...jump_to=942524
This description mostly identifies all the lister's dialog exactly.
The only
differences are the lister's name, the GW price, and one ot two other
small
details.

Great fun, if you've got the time.

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good as Gold Poker Run Sat 6/3 QLD Fulliautomatix Australian Motorcycles 0 02-27-2010 10:17 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:10 PM.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9