Grand Prix quiz

Discussion in 'Australian Motorcycles' started by Knobdoodle, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. Knobdoodle

    Knobdoodle Guest

    Stoner has 5 wins this year so he's looking pretty good but in 2006 Rossi
    won 5 yet finished second.
    Two men have won 6 races in a year yet still lost the championship. Who are
    (Bonus points if you can tell me how many the people who beat them had won)
    Knobdoodle, Jul 25, 2011
    1. Advertisements

  2. Knobdoodle

    Nev.. Guest

    One was Marco Simoncelli, who won 6 but finished 3rd following Barbera
    and Aoyama who won 3 each.

    Nev.., Jul 25, 2011
    1. Advertisements

  3. Knobdoodle

    Bushy Guest

    1983 Freddie Spencer won the championship with 6 wins - Kenny Roberts lost
    with 6 wins
    1989 Eddie Lawson won the championship with 4 wins - Kevin Scwantz lost with
    6 wins

    Bushy, Jul 25, 2011
  4. Knobdoodle

    Nev.. Guest

    And Youichi Ui won 6 and was beaten by Poggiali who won 3.

    Nev.., Jul 25, 2011
    Capt_about_lunchtime, Jul 25, 2011
  6. Knobdoodle

    bruce Guest

    1983 Kenny Roberts finished 2nd Yamaha500 6 wins Freddie Spencer 1st
    Honda NS500 6wins
    Dont those names bring back some magic memories of some stunning close racing!
    bruce, Jul 26, 2011
  7. Knobdoodle

    Theo Bekkers Guest

    "Knobdoodle" wrote
    No idea but my memory tells me that in F1 in 1982 Keke Rosberg won the
    championship by winning only one race. And he could have got the
    championship if he had come third in that one.

    Theo Bekkers, Jul 26, 2011
  8. Knobdoodle

    Nev.. Guest

    "Pitty" won a WSS title without ever winning a race in that class.

    Nev.., Jul 26, 2011
  9. Knobdoodle

    Knobdoodle Guest

    Well done Sir!!
    Did Steady Eddie really get 7 wins? I thought he only got 3 or 4....
    Knobdoodle, Jul 26, 2011
  10. Knobdoodle

    Knobdoodle Guest

    Shit; well done Nev, I forgot about the smaller classes.
    What about the year the Chupa-Chup boy Al-tha-mora won? Melandri must've
    gotten a few?
    (google google) Azuma 5, Melandri 5, Locatelli 2, Scalvini 2, Ueda 1,
    Vincent 1, Alzamora 0.
    Knobdoodle, Jul 26, 2011
  11. Knobdoodle

    Knobdoodle Guest

    Yeah it was 4. Other wins to Gardner (1) and Chili (1... sort-of)
    Knobdoodle, Jul 26, 2011

  12. Apoligies to you, you're correct of corse 1986 Eddie won 7 in 89 he only
    won 4

    Capt A. L.
    Capt_about_lunchtime, Jul 26, 2011
  13. Knobdoodle

    Deevo Guest

    I remember the Chili win, didn't all of the other factory backed teams
    withdraw because of safety concerns?
    Deevo, Jul 26, 2011
  14. Knobdoodle

    knobdoodle Guest

    Yep, Alzamora did it in the 125s and (I think) Manuel Herreros did it
    in the 50cc or 80cc GPs too.

    knobdoodle, Jul 27, 2011
  15. Knobdoodle

    knobdoodle Guest

    Yep. ALL the factory teams withdrew then Chili "un"withdrew and won
    the race. Afterwards he claimed the team forced him but the team-
    manager said it was his own idea.
    He was pretty shame-faced on the podium.

    knobdoodle, Jul 27, 2011
  16. Knobdoodle

    Nev.. Guest

    What sets A. Pitt apart from those blokes is that Alzamora and Herreros
    had both won races in the same class that they won their championships
    in years prior to their titles, whereas Pitt won the WSS title without
    ever having won a WSS race in any year.

    Nev.., Jul 27, 2011
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.